Traveling LIGHT?

On Friday, I traveled for a work event and attempted to go to the gym early. Since I snoozed out of my workout, I told myself I was going to eat sensibly. EPIC FAIL.

I started out at Starbucks. My breakfast consisted of a reduced-fat turkey bacon breakfast sandwich (230 calories) and a tall Peach Tranquility tea (60 calories), which wasn’t terrible. I flew from Providence to Philadelphia and everything went downhill.

My intentions were good – sushi and tea. After being “forced” to have a glass of wine (and this interesting plum liqueur), I ate my sushi, paid the bartender, and proceeded to the nearest CNBC Newsstand. For those thinking I went there to buy a magazine or plane accessories, I appreciate that. You’re too kind. For everyone who knows me, yes, I bought Watermelon Sour Patch Kids and Peanut M&Ms – the $3.99 bag. Luckily, there was a ‘Buy 2, get $1 off’ promotion.

Once I boarded the plane, the AMAZING Jason (American Airlines flight attendant) delightfully asked me if I’d like a drink. I’m a pleaser, so I couldn’t disappoint Jason. I ordered not one, not two, but four glasses of Chardonnay. 😁 I also ate both bags of candy, a bag of chips, and a bag of Smartfood Reduced Fat Popcorn. Needless to say, I made it a point to visit the hotel’s gym.

Why is this healthy eating thing so tough? Professionally, I’m a go-getter. I set goals, work hard, and achieve. That’s what I do. I wish there was a service that cooked quality foods for health seekers free of steroids and all the other crap in fast foods. I just want to be healthy. How do you avoid eating crap when you’re traveling? Please comment below. 🙏🏾

Leave a Reply

