Meal Preparation: Is it the Devil?

Every morning, I have a ritual. I wake up (obviously), prepare a cup of tea, check my email, then review my friends’ Snapchat stories. One of my friends is a New England Patriots cheerleader. Not only is she stunning, but she’s smart, sweet, and funny. A fitness devotee, she wakes up at 5am every morning and works out. In addition, she completes meal preparation every Sunday, effortlessly. My thought is, if she can do it, so can I.

Like most Americans, I google things a lot. This time, I decided to search for healthy meals under 400 calories. There is a lot of CRAP out there! An hour later, I found sensible meals and created a food shopping list. “This is going to be a piece of cake,” I thought. (Side note: I am now craving a piece of chocolate cake. Damn.)

Although food shopping was a breeze, it somewhat expensive. It’s funny. Fatty foods seem to cost very little, but healthy foods are much more costly (but I digress). Anyway, I love cooking, so the preparation portion should be fun.

**cooks food**

I’m eating my words. Preparation is DEFINITELY the devil. It’s boring and well, boring. Even though I despise it, I know it is necessary to fuel my body with the right nutrients, not empty calories. This process makes me want to hang myself, but it will be worth it in the end. Have tips to make it more efficient? Please post comments below.

Leave a Reply

